Chris Paul Re-elected as NBPA President, Garrett Temple Elected to Serve as VP on the Executive Committee

Garrett Temple at NBPA Headquarters. (Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images for the NBPA)

NEW YORK, June 23, 2017 During the annual summer meeting of the Board of NBA Player Representatives, nine-time All-Star Chris Paul was re-elected to a new term as President of the National Basketball Players Association (NBPA).

“I’m humbled that my fellow players have voted to have me continue as President of the NBPA,” said Paul. “We’ve accomplished a lot these past few years, most notably successfully negotiating a new CBA while avoiding being locked out. But there’s more work to be done. I look forward to helping new players understand and embrace everything the PA does for them, and working to create new opportunities for our players both on and off the court.”

Paul will begin his new four-year term immediately. In his first term, Paul was instrumental in the successful negotiation of a new Collective Bargaining Agreement, which includes increases in team roster sizes, salaries, player pensions and health benefits for retired players.

“Chris’ leadership has truly been remarkable, so we couldn’t be happier to see him continue as our President,” said NBPA Executive Director Michele Roberts. “With the most recent CBA behind us, we look forward to Chris’ role in helping us protect and serve the best interests of our members.”

In another election during the meeting, seven-year NBA veteran Garrett Temple was elected to a three-year term as Vice President of the NBPA, and his term will begin effective immediately. Temple, a member of the Sacramento Kings, replaces Kyle Korver, who served three years as Vice President on the Executive Committee.

“I would especially like to thank Kyle for his service to the Union and its members,” said Roberts. “Kyle was an integral part of our success in the recent CBA negotiations and made many valuable contributions during his time as Vice President on the Executive Committee.”

The other members of the Executive Committee are LeBron James (First Vice President), James Jones (Secretary-Treasurer), Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry, Pau Gasol, Andre Iguodala and Anthony Tolliver (Vice Presidents).

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>