Pau Gasol Elected to NBPA’s Executive Committee


NEW ORLEANS, Feb. 17, 2017 — During the annual All-Star meeting of the Board of Player Representatives of the National Basketball Players Association on Friday, six-time All-Star Pau Gasol of the San Antonio Spurs was elected to serve on the union’s Executive Committee.

“With the number of international players in our game continuing to grow, it’s very important for us to make sure that their interests are represented on our Executive Committee,” said Executive Director Michele Roberts. “Given his background and incredible accomplishments throughout his career both in the NBA and around the world, Pau will bring a unique perspective to our organization and we’re thrilled to welcome him.”

Gasol begins his three-year term effective immediately as a voting member of the nine-player NBPA Executive Committee. Gasol replaces Steve Blake, who served for three years and is not currently an active NBA player.

“On behalf of our players, I want to thank Steve for his service to the NBPA,” said Roberts. “He made valuable contributions during his time on the Executive Committee and he will always be a part of the NBPA family.”

The other members of the Executive Committee are Chris Paul (President), LeBron James (First Vice President), James Jones (Secretary-Treasurer), Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry, Andre Iguodala, Kyle Korver and Anthony Tolliver (Vice Presidents).

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>