Harrison Barnes Elected Secretary-Treasurer, CJ McCollum and Garrett Temple Re-elected as Vice Presidents to the NBPA Executive Committee

Harrison Barnes Elected Secretary-Treasurer, CJ McCollum and Garrett Temple Re-elected as Vice Presidents to the NBPA Executive Committee

NEW YORK, NY, March 5, 2021 – Harrison Barnes of the Sacramento Kings was elected as the new Secretary-Treasurer of the National Basketball Players Association (NBPA) at today’s annual winter meeting of the Board of NBPA Player Representatives. CJ McCollum of the Portland Trail Blazers and Garrett Temple of the Chicago Bulls have been re-elected as Vice Presidents on the NBPA’s Executive Committee.

A 9-year NBA veteran, Barnes has been active as an NBPA Player Representative since the 2014-2015 NBA season. McCollum and Temple who joined the Executive Committee in 2018 and 2017 respectively will start their new 3-year terms immediately.

“This is a great opportunity to get more involved in union business and I am very excited to join Chris, Andre and the rest of the Executive Committee,” said Harrison Barnes. “Our union has an important role representing all 450 players and I am honored that my peers elected me to this position.”

Barnes will begin his 3-year term as Secretary-Treasurer immediately and replaces Anthony Tolliver who has served on the Executive Committee since 2013.

“As a respected NBA veteran and a savvy businessman off the court, Anthony has been a key resource for our leadership team and for all players around the league for a long time,” said NBPA President Chris Paul. “We are extremely grateful for all of his hard work on the Executive Committee, especially throughout the challenges brought on by the pandemic this past year. We are thrilled to have CJ and Garrett back for another set of terms and look forward to Harrison joining us as the newest Secretary-Treasurer.” 

“Anthony has been such an important voice on our Executive Committee and I have been blessed to have had the benefit of his wisdom and guidance throughout my tenure at the Union,” said NBPA Executive Director Michele Roberts. “We thank him for all of his contributions, professionalism and hard work over the years. He helped make us a stronger union. Having CJ and Garrett back for another 3 years is exciting - they have been invaluable, particularly during these most recent trying times, and we proudly welcome our newest addition, Harrison Barnes, to the Executive Committee and look forward to his participation.”

The members of the NBPA Executive Committee are:

  • Chris Paul, President

  • Andre Iguodala, First Vice President

  • Harrison Barnes, Secretary-Treasurer 

  • Bismack Biyombo, Vice President

  • Malcolm Brogdon, Vice President 

  • Jaylen Brown, Vice President

  • Kyrie Irving, Vice President

  • CJ McCollum, Vice President,

  • Garrett Temple, Vice President

Media Contact: Elle Hagedorn, 212-655-0896;

About the NBPA

The National Basketball Players Association is the union for current professional basketball players in the National Basketball Association (NBA). Established in 1954, the NBPA’s mission is to protect and support the rights and talents of our players, magnify the power of their collective will, and amplify their voices as leaders who will transcend sport and society globally.

The NBPA advocates on behalf of the best interests of all NBA players, including the negotiation of collective bargaining agreements, the filing of grievances on behalf of the players, or counseling players on benefits, educational and post-NBA career opportunities. Business opportunities are generated by THINK450, the subsidiary of the NBPA charged with managing the players’ group licensing rights.

Dedicated to preserving the legacy of its members, the NBPA Foundation provides support and assistance to persons, communities and organizations around the world that seek to improve the lives of those in need.